The Central Decatur and Lamoni Community School Boards of Education met for a joint board work session in the High School Library on Wednesday, December 6, 2023.

CD Board members present: Sean Saxton, Nick Tharp, Cassy Allen, and Amber Swartz. Andrew Sullivan joined at 8:07 p.m.

Lamoni Board member present: Nate Pierschbacher, Zack Mullins, Kathy Lerma, Michele Dickey-Kotz, and Kris Stevenson.

Board members absent: None

Others in attendance: Raymond Storm, Kerry Newman, Tim Keuhl, Keegan Smith, Tara Page, Dan Johnson, Amy Whittington, Chris Coffelt, Stacy Jones, Becky Broich and two guests.

The work session began at 7:06 p.m.

Green Hills AEA

Green Hills AEA (GH AEA) Field Director Kerry Newman and GH AEA District 1 Board Director Raymond Storm talked about the region covered and various services and supports provided to districts. Raymond has served as a GH AEA Board Director for 23 years.

Innovative Calendar

Murray Community School District's Superintendent Tim Keuhl, Elementary Principal Keegan Smith, and Board President Tara Page shared their process and experience regarding a 4-day school week. Board members spent time asking questions and discussing potential benefits and considerations.

Shared Resources

Board members reviewed current operational sharing positions and financial incentive for the following:

- Shared with Lamoni Superintendent, Human Resources Director, and Transportation Director,
- Shared with GH AEA Master Social Worker
- Shared with City of Leon School Resource Officer

Boards will take action to continue sharing these positions in January or February.

Board members reviewed shared athletics and activities and other shared positions between the two districts. Current athletics and activities shared:

- Boys' Wrestling @ CD
- Bowling @ Lamoni
- Southern Tier Girls' Wrestling @ CD
- eSports @ CD

Other shared positions:

- Instructional Technology Director, Mark Patience with support through GH AEA
- Library Media Services through GH AEA

Board members also discussed holding another joint meeting for strategic planning for the future.

The work session ended at 9:30 p.m.

Amber Swartz, President

Becky Broich, Board Secretary