Central Trail FFA Celebrates National FFA Week

by: Jamie Oesch and Adeline Stone

February 18th-22nd was a week full of laughter and memories. Sunday’s dress-up day was to attend your local church in official dress, which was optional for students and members. Then for the first time our chapter hosted a drive-in movie. We watched “8 Seconds” at the Decatur County Fairgrounds. There was 50% attendance from our chapter!

MIn to Win 1

Next, we had Mornin’ Chore Monday where you would wear your farm pajamas! Our animal of the day was Stella brought by Ms. Sondag. That morning, we held a kickoff assembly with faculty staff and member donuts sponsored by Central Trail Middle School FFA. Our events we held throughout the day were Minute to Win which was a hog calling contest competed by teachers, sing or get pied which was teacher lip sync, and count the corn contest for students. Our winner for the hog-calling contest was Mrs. Bear. Our winners for the sing or get pied were Mrs. Clark and Mrs. Crouch. Kiss a contest was done by Ms. Sondag and Mr. Kistler kissing a snake.

Sing or Get Pied Winners

FFA T-Shirt Day or wear Blue & Gold was held on Tuesday. We took a chapter group picture. Animals of the day were Heihei and Goldie, Polish Chickens owned by Riley Yoder. Early that morning we held a Faculty and Staff breakfast. We were serving our teachers with some delicious pancakes. Our goal is to always give back and show appreciation to our staff. We held Recruitment day for our younger students. South Central District Officers and Iowa FFA Officers: Liz Hadley, Tucker Rohrig, and Wyatt Carlson came to have a fun fulfilled day. Our contests for the day were Minute to Win It Needle in the Haystack and Kiss a Contest. Mrs. Thomas and Mrs. Cooper were picked for the kiss a contest. They kissed the Polish chickens.

IMG 0529

Greenhand Quiz Picture

Front Row (l to r):  Jamahl Campbell, Teegun Davis, Blaine Buckingham, Soyer Smith & Rory JR, Riley Benda, Aubrey Adams, Renata Coria Toledo, Miracle Stansbery

Back Row (l to r): Lucas Lindsey, Gage Hulllinger, Krey Hunt, Braeden Thomas, Lola Helton, Taylor Leahy, Aubri Perkins, Macson Lindsey, Kamryn Jones

Wednesday we wore camo for dress-up day Where’s Wednesday? Animals of the day were sisters Sissy & Reba brought by Jamie Oesch, as well as a goat brought by Soiyer Smith. They were two healer puppies. That morning we held Greenhand Initiation for our first-year members. Unfortunately, we had to cancel our Ag Olympics this year due to some time restrictions. Rory the goat participated in the kiss a contest as well as Mr. Colby Wilkens and Mrs. Muller.

Mr. Johnson Kisses Pig Pig

Thursday, was work day Thursday meaning wear your best farm clothes. We even had a pig in the classroom! Named Pig Pig, that was brought by Mrs. Dittmer. Before school, we held an Agri-Car Show. Having a revving contest, a beater with no heater, and the muddiest vehicle. Congratulations to Matthew Foltz for winning the Rev contest, Krey Hunt for winning the Beater with No Heater contest, and Lorenzo Austin III for winning the Muddiest. The final kiss a contest was Mrs. Barb, Mr. Carter Wilkens, and Mr. Johnson kiss Pig Pig. In conclusion, everyone had a great time throughout the week and enjoyed participating in different activities.

Central Trail FFA

Central Trail FFA Group Picture:

Front Row (l to r):  Jamie Oesch, Reporter; Adeline Stone, Reporter; Angel Keeney, Treasurer; Matthew Foltz, Vice President; Jeffrey Richards, Sentinel; Hadley Bell, President; Quinn Kernen; Leighanna Bundt, Chaplain; Olivia Saylor, Historian

Second Row (l or r): Gus Oesch, Lane Leeper, Mason Allen, Wade Hill, John Newman, Gage Hullinger, Anden Hall, Judd Eastin, Lizzy Curl

Third Row (l to r):  Rilee Alley, Morgan Buckingham, Bianca Swartz, Mili Waugh, Corlynn Cook, Megan Young, Kaycee Jones, Bailey Dittmer, Kat Mothershead, Austin Jensen

Fourth Row (l to r): Aubri Perkins, Makenna Perkins, Abby Leahy, Katie Pfaltzgraff, Morgan Havlik, Angel Gilliam, Abbie Forkner, Damien Easton, Cadi Smith, Zoey Hamilton, Aidyn Marvin

Fifth Row (l to r): Lola Helton, Kiley Zion, Soiyer Smith, Taylor Leahy, Macson Lindsey, Levi Cook, Aubrey Adams, Bailey Wallace, Miracle Stansberry, Renata Coria Toledo

Sixth Row (l to r): AJ Moore, Blake Boyd, Lucas Lindsey, Coby Martin, Braeden Thomas, Gage Pierson, Riley Benda, Kamryn Jones

Seventh Row (l to r): Payton Bragg, Nolan Pierson, Cooper Horton, Krey Hunt, Lilly Johnson, Nathan Williams, Teegun Davis, Blaine Buckingham, Aiden Vargas

Not Pictured: Kason Cowden, Bella Boyce, Jamahl Campbell, Cutter Frisbie, Wyatt Hamaker, Bly Hunt, CJ Miller, Gavin Smith, Piper Teel, Riley Young


Middle School FFA Group Picture:

Front Row (l to r): Kendall Hatfield, President; Bryse Auxier, Secretary/Treasurer; Jordan Dittmer, Vice President

Second Row (l to r): Slater Keeney, Bentley Hearron, Avery Redman, Piper Helton, Grace Leahy, Landi Leeper, Isabelle Patterson, Ocean Mathis

Third Row (l to r): Grant Oesch, Cole Cline, Addelynne Lane, Sadie Buckingham, Lakyn Mundy, Madi Horton, Kinlee Allen, Aubree Surber

Fourth Row (l to r):  Ajae Mendenhall, Beau Waugh, Carter Hall, Gibson Graham, Glendon Butz

Not Pictured: Kelsey Coon, Jerzee Schnick, Finley Sullivan, Carly Liggett, Karmyn Teel